Seedling Graft

FACULTY

The School is organized into a single faculty headed by a Director. The faculty of the School is responsible for maintaining undergraduate and graduate curricula. The faculty operates under a set of bylaws.

The list on this page contains only current SEFS teaching and research faculty.

Follow the links below for other lists:

Adjunct Faculty
Affiliate Faculty
Emeritus Faculty
All Faculty

If you don't find the person you are looking for, check the UW Directory.  The Seattle campus is located in area code 206. The UW uses the prefixes 543, 685, 221, 616, and 897.  When dialing within the UW, use only the last five digits.  Please send corrections of faculty and staff listings to the Webmaster.

Online Directory of Permanent Faculty asp.net report
Online Directory of Permanent Faculty and Staff asp.net report
Online Directory of All Employees asp.net report
Printable Condensed Phone List pdf document


TEACHING AND RESEARCH FACULTY

 
Allan, G. Graham   Professor
Bloedel 304 | 206-543-1491 | create@uw.edu
Fiber composites; Polymer science;Creativity and innovation; Controlled release systems


Alvarado, Ernesto   Research Associate Professor
Bloedel 332 | 206-616-6920 | alvarado@uw.edu
Wildland fire science; Fire ecology and management; Combustion and fire behavior; Carbon emissions; Fire and climate change; Quantitative modeling; International forestry
http://faculty.washington.edu/alvarado

Asah, Stanley   Assistant Professor
Anderson 201 | 206-685-4960 | stasah@uw.edu
Human dimensions of natural resource management; Human environment systems analyses; Environmental social psychology


Bakker, Jonathan   Associate Professor
Merrill 36 | 206-221-3864 | jbakker@uw.edu
Ecological restoration; Sustainable ecosystem management
http://faculty.washington.edu/jbakker/

Baral, Nabin   Research Associate
Winkenwerder 104a | 206-543-3507 | nbaral@uw.edu
Human dimensions of natural resource management; Human environment systems analyses; Resilience in social-ecological systems; Environmental social psychology; Environmental sustainability


Bare, Bruce   Dean Emeritus and Professor
Anderson 123D | 206-685-0878 | bare@uw.edu
Forest management and economics, forest valuation, timber taxation, timber and timberland appraisal, management science, planning, forest policy, and decision support systems.
http://faculty.washington.edu/bare/

Bolton, Susan   Professor
Bloedel 244 | 206-685-7651 | sbolton@uw.edu
Surface water hydrology; Watershed management; Water quality


Bradley, Gordon   Professor
Bloedel 282 | 206-685-0881 | gbradley@uw.edu
Forest land use planning; Impact assessment; Conservation area planning; Urban ecology and urban forestry


Brown, Sally   Research Associate Professor
Bloedel 203 | 206-616-1299 | slb@uw.edu
In situ remediation of soils; Use of biosolids; Phytoremediation of heavy metals
http://faculty.washington.edu/slb/

Bura, Renata   Associate Professor
Bloedel 344 | 206-616-2179 | renatab@uw.edu
Bioconversion of lignocellulosic biomass; Biomaterials from lignin and plant components
http://depts.washington.edu/sfrbbl/

DeLuca, Thomas   Professor and Director
Anderson 102 | 206-685-1928 | deluca@uw.edu
Forest soils; Sustainable resource management
http://depts.washington.edu/delucalb

Doty, Sharon   Associate Professor
Winkenwerder 205 | 206-616-6255 | sldoty@uw.edu
Phytoremediation; Plant biotechnology
http://faculty.washington.edu/sldoty/

Duggan, Jennifer   Research Associate
Winkenwerder 209 | 206-685-4367 | jduggan@uw.edu
Wildlife biology; Habitat modeling


Eastin, Ivan   Professor/Director, CINTRAFOR
Anderson 123J | 206-543-1918 | eastin@uw.edu
Marketing strategies and international trade of forest products; Marketing of lesser-known timber species


Ettl, Gregory   Associate Professor and Associate Director
Winkenwerder 102 | 206-616-4120 | ettl@uw.edu
Sustainable forestry; Forest ecology; Silviculture
http://faculty.washington.edu/ettl

Ewanick, Shannon   Research Associate
Bloedel 360 | 206-543-0827 | ewanick@uw.edu
Bioconversion of lignocellulosic biomass
http://depts.washington.edu/sfrbbl

Ewing, Kern   Professor
Merrill 31 | 206-543-4426 | kern@uw.edu
Wetland plant ecology; Restoration ecology
http://faculty.washington.edu/kern/

Franklin, Jerry   Professor
Anderson 203 | 206-543-2138 | jff@uw.edu
Forest ecology; Ecosystem processes; Landscape ecology; Succession; Structure
http://faculty.washington.edu/jff/

Fridley, James   Professor
Bloedel 390 | 206-543-6993 | fridley@uw.edu
Forest engineering systems design; Interactive computer simulation


Ganguly, Indroneil   Research Assistant Professor
Anderson 023 | 206-616-3681 | indro@uw.edu
Forest products marketing; Forest economics


Graumlich, Lisa   Virginia and Prentice Bloedel Professor/Dean, College of the Environment
Oceanography 200 | 206 685-7532 | graumlic@uw.edu
Paleoecology; Climate change adaptation
http://www.coenv.washington.edu/about/graumlich.shtml

Greulich, Frank   Professor
Bloedel 388 | 206-543-1464 | greulich@uw.edu
Management science and biometry applied to land management
http://faculty.washington.edu/greulich/Index.htm

Gustafson, Richard   Professor
Bloedel 364 | 206-543-2790 | pulp@uw.edu
Biofuels and bio-based products; Process simulation; Process control; Instrument development
http://depts.washington.edu/sfrbbl/

Halpern, Charles   Research Professor
Winkenwerder 207 | 206-543-2789 | chalpern@uw.edu
Community ecology; Succession; Ecology of montane/subalpine meadows; Effects of forest management on plant diversity
http://faculty.washington.edu/chalpern/

Harrell, Stevan   Professor
Denny M41 | 206-543-9608 | stevehar@uw.edu
Anthropology of people and natural resources; Resilience in socio-ecological systems; Interdisciplinary ecosystems research
http://faculty.washington.edu/stevehar/

Harrison, Robert   Professor
Bloedel 218 | 206-685-7463 | robh@uw.edu
Forest nutrition; mineral cycling; long-term forest productivity; organic waste utilization; carbon sequestration
http://soilslab.cfr.washington.edu/Rob_Harrison/RobCV.html

Heinrichs, Julie   Research Associate
Winkenwerder 209 | 206-685-4367 | jheinrx@uw.edu
Wildlife science; Animal populations


Kane, Van   Research Associate
Winkenwerder 208 | 206-221-9034 | vkane@uw.edu
Ecosystem science; Forest structure


Kim, Soo-Hyung   Associate Professor
Merrill 37 | 206-616-4971 | soohkim@uw.edu
Plant ecophysiology; Crop modeling
http://faculty.washington.edu/soohkim/

Lawler, Joshua   Associate Professor
Anderson 202 | 206-685-4367 | jlawler@uw.edu
Landscape ecology; Conservation biology
http://depts.washington.edu/landecol/index.shtml

Marzluff, John   Professor
Anderson 123E | 206-616-6883 | corvid@uw.edu
Wildlife-habitat relationships; Avian social ecology and demography


McGuire, Jennifer   Research Associate
Winkenwerder 209 | 206-685-4367 | jennymcg@uw.edu
Evolutionary biology/ecology


Moskal, L. Monika   Associate Professor / Director, Precision Forestry Cooperative
Bloedel 382 | 206-221-6391 | lmmoskal@uw.edu
Remote sensing; Biospatial analysis
http://faculty.washington.edu/lmmoskal/

Nogeire, Theresa   Research Associate
Winkenwerder 209 | 206-685-4367 | nogeire@uw.edu
Landscape ecology; Wildlife conservation; Agroecosystems


Paun, Dorothy   Associate Professor
Bloedel 396 | 206-685-9467 | dap@uw.edu
Triple bottom line sustainability performance assessment (financial, environmental, and corporate social responsibility)
http://courses.washington.edu/sustains/

Perez-Garcia, John   Professor
Anderson 123C | 206-685-2315 | perjohm@uw.edu
Trade analysis and modeling of forest sector


Rabotyagov, Sergey   Assistant Professor
Anderson 123G | 206-685-3159 | rabotyag@uw.edu
Environmental economics


Reichard, Sarah   Professor / Director, UW Botanic Gardens
Merrill 32 | 206-616-5020 | reichard@uw.edu
Biology of invasive organisms; Reintroduction of rare species; Rare plant preservation
http://faculty.washington.edu/reichard/

Resende, Fernando   Assistant Professor
Bloedel 290 | 206-221-1580 | fresende@uw.edu
Thermochemical conversion of lignocellulosic biomass into fuels and chemicals


Richardson, Jeffrey   Research Associate
Anderson 302 | | jeffjr@uw.edu
Remote sensing and GIS analysis


Richey, Jeffrey   Professor
Oceanography | | jrichey@uw.edu
Quantitative problems/Aquatic systems; Joint appointment; Primary appointment in College of Ocean and Fishery Sciences
http://www.ocean.washington.edu/people/faculty/jrichey.u.washington.edu.html

Robbins, Alicia   Research Associate
USFS PNW Lab, Seattle | 206-732-7870 | astr@uw.edu



Ryan, Clare   Professor / Director, Program on the Environment
Anderson 123H | 206-616-3987 | cmryan@uw.edu
Environmental policy; Urban ecology and management; Conflict management


Ryan, Maureen   Research Associate
| 360-685-3640 | moryan@uw.edu
Freshwater ecology and conservation biology


Tobin, Patrick   Assistant Professor
Anderson 123B | 206-685-7588 | pctobin@uw.edu
Entomology; Invasion ecology; Population ecology


Tóth, Sándor F.    Associate Professor
Bloedel 358 | 206-616-2738 | toths@uw.edu
Natural resource informatics
http://faculty.washington.edu/toths/

Turnblom, Eric   Associate Professor
Bloedel 232 | 206-543-2762 | ect@uw.edu
Forest growth and yield modeling; Sampling and inventory; Biometrics


Vogt, Daniel   Associate Professor
Bloedel 258 | 206-685-3292 | dvogt@uw.edu
Soil and ecosystem ecology; Natural, disturbed, and sustainable ecosystems


Vogt, Kristiina   Professor
Bloedel 290 | 206-543-2765 | kvogt@uw.edu
Linking social and natural science; Reserves; Conservation


Wilsey, Chad   Research Associate
Winkenwerder 209 | 206-685-4367 | cbwilsey@uw.edu
Landscape ecology


Wirsing, Aaron   Associate Professor
Winkenwerder 101 | 206-543-1585 | wirsinga@uw.edu
Wildlife science; Behavioral ecology; Predator-prey interaction
http://www.predatorecology.com

Zabowski, Darlene   Professor
Bloedel 204 | 206-685-9550 | zabow@uw.edu
Forest soils and soil genesis and classification; Biogeochemical cycling of forest soils